Subscribe to South Asia Citizens Wire | feeds from | @sacw
Home > Communalism Repository > India 2014 Elections: An Appeal to Voters from Concerned Citizens and (...)

India 2014 Elections: An Appeal to Voters from Concerned Citizens and Workers Associated with the World of Cinema

16 April 2014

print version of this article print version


Dear Fellow-Indians,

The best thing about our country is its cultural diversity, its pluralism - the co-existence of a number of religions and ethnicities over centuries, and hence the blooming of multiple streams of intellectual and artistic thought. And, this has been possible only because Indian society has prided itself on being essentially secular in character, rejecting communal hatred, embracing tolerance.

Today, that very sense of India is vulnerable. The need of the hour is to protect our country’s secular foundation. Undoubtedly, corruption and governance are important issues, but we will have to vigilantly work out ways of holding our government accountable to that. However, one thing is clear: India’s secular character is not negotiable! Not now, not ever.

As Indian citizens who love our motherland, we appeal to you to vote for the secular party, which is most likely to win in your constituency.

Jai Hind!


  • Imtiaz Ali (Writer-Director: Highway, Jab We Met)
  • Vishal Bhardwaj (Writer-Director: Omkara, Maqbool)
  • Govind Nihalani (Director: Tamas, Ardh Satya)
  • Saeed Mirza (Director: Albert Pinto Ko Gussa Kyon Aata Hai)
  • Zoya Akhtar (Writer-Director: Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara)
  • Anand Patwardhan (Documentary Film-maker: Jai Bhim Comrade)
  • Vijay Krishna Acharya (Director: Dhoom 3)
  • Kabir Khan (Director: Ek Tha Tiger)
  • Kundan Shah (Director: Jaane Bhi Do Yaaro)
  • Nandita Das (Director-Actress: Firaaq, Fire)
  • Hansal Mehta (Director: Shahid)
  • Tushar Gandhi (Activist)
  • Teesta Setalvaad (Activist)
  • Javed Anand (Activist)
  • Anjum Rajabali (Writer: Raajneeti, Satyagraha)
  • Akshat Verma (Writer: Delhi Belly)
  • Shubha Mudgal (Singer-Musician)
  • Aneesh Pradhan (Tabla Maestro)
  • Swara Bhaskar (Actor: Raanjhana, Tanu Weds Manu)
  • Aditi Rao Hydari (Actor: Murder 3, Rockstar)
  • Mahesh Bhatt (Director-Producer: Saaraansh, Jannat)
  • Anil Mehta (Cinematographer: Lagaan, Jab Tak Hai Jaan)
  • Saket Chaudhary (Writer-Director: Shaadi Ke Side Effects)
  • Rakesh Sharma (Documentary Film-maker: Final Solution)
  • Vinay Shukla (Writer-Director: Godmother)
  • Kamlesh Pandey (Writer: Rang De Basanti)
  • Robin Bhatt (Writer: Chennai Express, Krish 3)
  • Sanjay Chhel (Writer: Rangeela, Yes Boss)
  • Sameer Anjan (Lyricist: Dhoom 3, Kuch Kuch Hota Hai)
  • Imteyaz Husain (Writer: Parinda)
  • Rajesh Dubey (TV Writer: Balika Vadhu)
  • Vinod Ranganath (TV Writer: Shanti, Swaabhiman)
  • Jalees Sherwani (Lyricist: Dabang)
  • Danish Javed (Lyricist and Poet)
  • Amitabh Shukla (Film Editor: Chak De India)
  • Sukant Panigrahi (Art Director)
  • Surabhi Sharma (Documentary Film-maker)
  • Anusha Khan (Producer)
  • Bishwadeep Chatterjee (Sound Designer: 3 Idiots)
  • C.K. Muraleedharan (Cinematographer: 3 Idiots)
  • Dr Manasee Palshikar (Screenwriter-Teacher)
  • Jyoti Dogra (Actor)
  • Joy Sengupta (Actor)
  • Kauser Munir (Lyricist: Dhoom 3)
  • Mazahir Rahim (Screenwriter)
  • Nishant Radhakrishnan (Film Editor: Satyamev Jayate)
  • Preety Ali (Producer)
  • Priyanka Borpujari (Screenwriter)
  • Rajashree (Filmmaker-Teacher)
  • Ruchika Oberoi (Film-maker)
  • Rukmini Sen (Screenwriter and TV Journalist)
  • Sameera Iyengar (Theatre activist)
  • Sharad Tripathi (Screenwriter)
  • Shivani Tibrewala Chand (Playwright)
  • Siminatini Dhuru (Filmmaker-Activist)
  • Sona Jain (Film-maker)